Four Letters I

MUSIC, AUDIOVISUAL WORK
part of the work series „Code Machines“

2010

This whole piece – sound and visuals – is created just out of the letter I. Using vvvv to manipulate the display of a single letter in as many as possible ways. Crawling through all the data on my harddisk and whenever the ascii code of the letter I is found, a midi note is beeing triggered with note number and prg number taken from the byte before and after. Four of this patches are running the same time on different midi channels. The sounds are generated by the standard midi synth on my PC, with no further mixing or editing of the sound, because I wanted to use just the given material.

The crawler doesn’t look for „real letters“ but for every byte that has the same value as the ascii code of I (49 Hex), representing a potential I on my harddisk. So one can imagine that there is a hell lot of trigger events generated, thus the patches are often overwhelmed, resulting in unexpected outcome in sound and visuals … but that is what I like.

It is intended to be shown as a situative installation with four audio channels and four screens/projections.
The video here is put together from different parts to document the project.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

